The BEST Challah French Toast

photo 3

In a past life, I would have loved to have been served sweet breakfast treats like French toast every morning. Now, I seldom crave such things and prefer a more savory breakfast. Somewhere, out of nowhere…. I got the inspiration to make an all-star breakfast which is something I never do. There’s something about preparing a meal after just waking up that’s not all that appealing to me–call me crazy! I don’t know how some people whip up breakfasts regularly on the weekend. It’s just not my thing which couldn’t be more clearer if you looked at the Recipes section of this blog and noticed the lack of breakfast foods I’ve made (especially ones that aren’t baked goods!)

Anyway, I’ve had my fair share of French toasts when going out to brunch. It’s the one hot, sweet breakfast dish that makes me think twice about ordering a frittata or a breakfast sandwich. And since I’ve ordered a few French toasts from some of the best bruncheries in the city of Philadelphia, I think I’m qualified to make the following judgement call: this IS the best French toast you might ever have.

photo 1

Why?

Here’s why:

1. You can eat it with bed head, pajamas and slippers

2. You can go back to bed right away if needed–no walk/car ride home!

3. Jokes aside, the French toast itself is soooo delicious! The honey and the vanilla work together to create the perfect sweetness. Slicing the bread thicker ensures the French toast won’t be mushy, but instead has a lighter, airier quality that absorbs the maple syrup perfectly.

The only thing I’d do different next time is warm the syrup first. But seriously, make this asap. It’s as impressive as it gets.

photo 2

Recipe via Ina Garten 

Ingredients
6 large eggs
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon good honey
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 large loaf challah
Unsalted butter
Vegetable oil

Directions
Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F.

In a large shallow bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, vanilla, honey, and salt. Slice the challah in 3/4-inch thick slices. Soak as many slices in the egg mixture as possible for 5 minutes, turning once.

Heat 1 tablespoon butter and 1 tablespoon oil in a very large saute pan over medium heat. Add the soaked bread and cook for 2 to 3 minutes on each side, until nicely browned. Place the cooked French toast on a sheet pan and keep it warm in the oven. Fry the remaining soaked bread slices, adding butter and oil as needed, until it’s all cooked. Serve hot with maple syrup or if you like, raspberry preserves, and/or confectioners’ sugar.

One thought on “The BEST Challah French Toast

Leave a Reply

