Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

I have been on the lookout for a breakfast/snack recipe that I could make ahead of time and enjoy for a week or so. I found this chewy granola bar recipe on Food Network’s website the other morning and decided this would be the one I try. When I saw that no baking was needed, I was sold because that meant there was no way I could mess it up!

Well, SOMEHOW I messed it up. The worst thing for me about baking is I always know when I mess up but I am so determined to push through it that I convince myself it will work out. This time especially it did not. I knew I didn’t have enough honey and after reading some comments on the website, I should have used more butter. This meant there wasn’t enough “glue” holding the bars together. What you see below is one of maybe 4 bars that actually turned out well.

As soon as I picked this off the plate to move to a plastic container, it literally disintegrated in my hands.

With a ziplock bag full of crumbles of once great granola bars being all that remains, I will just say that I made really tasty trail mix. I will have to give this another whirl sometime…and make sure to have plenty of honey in the pantry closet!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 3 cups low-fat granola mix (not cereal)
  • 1/2 cup sweetened flake coconut
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 3/4 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds

Directions

On medium heat combine the brown sugar, vanilla, butter and honey in a medium saucepan until it comes to a boil. Lower heat and let simmer for 2 minutes or until sugar is dissolved. Cool.

In a large bowl, combine granola, coconut, raisins, 1/2 cup chocolate chips and almonds. Then stir in the brown sugar mixture to the bowl of granola. Spread evenly in a 13 by 9 by 2-inch baking pan and press the left over chocolate chips into the top. Place in the refrigerator for 2 hours or until completely cool. Cut and serve.

3 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

