The BEST Peanut Butter Cupcake

Make this immediately. It’s that good. It’s that kind of good that you can’t really describe in words. It’s the kind of good that warrants the reaction of Guy Fierri on Triple D when he eats something he actually likes…which if you pay close attention isn’t very often.

In honor of my little sister and fellow peanut butter fanatic graduating college this past weekend, I wanted to bake her some peanut butter treats! Cupcakes are my go-to because I have never messed them up too bad since taking Paula Deen’s advice and always baking them for 22 minutes exactly at 350 and turning them around in the oven once at the  halfway mark.

For this I went to Martha Stewart and the recipe was ridiculous. I could search high and low for a better descriptive word in the dictionary but “ridiculous” truly sums it up.  The batter tasted like the inside of a Reese’s peanut butter cup and my sister is lucky that I was still able to make 23 cupcakes after “taste-testing” so much of it early on.

This would have gone perfectly if not for a broken pilot light in the oven which kept turning off! Grrrrr. Many expletives were uttered and oven mitts were thrown as I had a baking temper tantrum, but they turned out pretty good in the end!

Sidenote: The cream cheese icing was in no way sweet enough for my taste. I kept pouring in more and more confectioner’s sugar until it tasted right. So don’t be afraid to add a little or a ton of extra sugar to the frosting.

Cake Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 6 ounces (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup natural, creamy peanut butter
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tins with paper liners. Whisk dry ingredients in a large bowl. Cream butter and sugar with a mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition.

Reduce speed to low. Mix in sour cream and peanut butter. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture in 3 additions. Divide batter among muffin cups, filling each  about 2/3 full.

Bake for about 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cupcake comes out clean. Cupcakes will keep, if covered, for up to 3 days.

For the frosting:

  • 6 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter (not natural)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions:

Beat cream cheese and confectioners’ sugar with a mixer on medium speed. Add salt, then peanut butter, then vanilla. Whisk cream until soft peaks form, and then fold into peanut butter mixture.

11 thoughts on “The BEST Peanut Butter Cupcake

  1. There is no combination better than peanut butter and chocolate. Sometimes, I just buy a chocolate bar and use it as a spoon in a tub of peanut butter. Just pretend for ONE second that that isn’t gross. But it’s so good 😛
    I have never thought of making a peanut butter cupcake! I have only made cookies and while they are awesome, I am intrigued by this! They look delicious!

  2. You had me with batter like the inside of a Reese’s cup. Chocolate and peanut butter is pretty much my favorite combination. I will be taking these to a BBQ this weekend.

    Hilarious note about Triple D, my husband and I picked up on that too 🙂

    • They will not disappoint! Be sure to let me know how they turn out! Haha so glad to know I’m not alone on my Food Network observations, too!

Leave a Reply

