Eggnog Pound Cake

Being a nice Jewish girl, I had never known what exactly eggnog was or tasted like, let alone tried it. I had never even tried a baked ham until a few years ago! But since it’s the holiday season, I wanted to make some festive treats. I saw this recipe and thought it would be a perfect, easy snack (that could double as breakfast!).

Eggnog pound cake

I would have made my own pound cake, but I saw I needed like 9 eggs and it just seemed excessive and dumb because I had no idea if I was even going to like eggnog. I wasn’t going to waste my money buying all the ingredients when I can go all Sandra Lee and Semi-Homemade. Seriously, don’t even get me started on Sandra… this is the one and only time I will ever reference that CRAZY lady.

The good news is the pound cake turned out pretty well! The better news: Jews can enjoy eggnog too…in cake form, that is. I found the actual eggnog to be way too sweet and thick for my liking, so I’m going to stick with my latkes and kugel and leave the eggnog to the Christmas lovers…save for this delicious pound cake!

photo (1)

Tree at Headhouse Square, Philadelphia

Ingredients

  • 1 (16-oz.) package pound cake mix
  • 1 1/4 cups eggnog
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Beat all ingredients together at low speed with an electric mixer until blended. Increase speed to medium, and beat 2 minutes. Pour into a lightly greased 9- x 5-inch loaf pan. (I used 11 x 5)
  2. Bake at 350° for 1 hour to 1 hour and 5 minutes or until a long wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan on a wire rack 10 minutes. Remove from pan to wire rack, and cool completely (about 1 hour).
2 thoughts on “Eggnog Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

