A great recipe made even better because it calls for BACON.

Bacon! Well actually, Pancetta…because I’m tryna be fancy.

I don’t love bacon. Weird but I don’t. I get grossed out when I see people eating it by the slice out at IHOP or wherever you bacon lovers choose to eat your greasy breakfast fare.  There’s just absolutely nothing appealing about eating a salty, oily, slice of bacon all by its lonesome.

However, when bacon is crumbled up and added to oh say, an amazing Cobb salad I die. Die die die. (Sorry if you don’t get my Will & Grace reference there, but Jack McFarland would!) Some bacon crumbles add the perfect salty, crunchy touch to the salad laced with egg and blue cheese.

Pancetta crisping away

Pancetta crisping away

But this isn’t about Cobb salad! It’s alllllll about this fusilli with zucchini and corn deal. Let me tell you, it is ev-er-y-thinggggg. I found this recipe on Epicurious and initially chose it because it seemed semi-healthy with the veggies and pesto but then realized I could dice up some Pancetta with it and my yearnings to eat healthy quickly flew out of the window.

If you are looking for a healthy dinner–this is it! Just leave out the bacon (which is incidentally all I’ve been rambling about this whole post). But make this….seriously. You’ll love!

photo (5)

Ingredients:

  • 6 bacon slices
  • 1 pound fusilli (I forget what I used, but it wasn’t fusilli….even though I did buy it just for this!)
  • 3 ears corn, kernels cut from cob
  • 1 1/2 pounds zucchini, coarsely chopped (1/2-inch pieces)
  • 1 (5- to 7-ounce) container basil pesto

Directions:

Cook bacon in a 12-inch heavy skillet over medium heat, turning occasionally, until crisp. Drain on paper towels; discard drippings from skillet.

Meanwhile, cook fusilli in a pasta pot of boiling salted water (3 tablespoons salt for 6 quart water) until al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup pasta-cooking water, then add vegetables to pasta in pot and cook, partially covered, 2 minutes (water will stop boiling). Drain.

Add pasta with vegetables to skillet along with pesto and 1/4 cup reserved cooking water and toss. Season with salt and moisten with additional cooking water if necessary.

If your like me and don’t own a giant skillet,  I sauteed the corn and zucchini together and then added everything to the pasta. Worked fine!

Top with crumbled bacon and a generous amount of freshly ground pepper.

6 thoughts on “A great recipe made even better because it calls for BACON.

Leave a Reply

