Fig Spice Cupcakes with the Best Buttercream Ever!

photo (14)

I love using lots of spices during the colder months. It just feels good to enjoy some good spices–cinnamon, nutmeg, etc on a chilly day, whether it be in your coffee or in your dessert. I made these cupcakes as a Christmas gift and they are great–albeit the texture wasn’t what I was planning on. It was more like a scone-consistency, which wasn’t bad, just not what I had anticipated. But the flavors were all there!

I used fresh whole figs, diced up and…yummm. I forgot how much I loved figs!  Their grittiness and sweetness made the cakes so much more pleasing than I could have hoped!

FIGS

FIGS

But what I really want to talk about is the buttercream frosting. I am going to try to use this anywhere I can in the future. I’m a sucker for cinnamon so if a recipe calls for a 1/4 tsp of it, I double or triple it. Honey cinnamon buttercream. How could it be bad? But how could it be soooooooo good!?

The recipe is from Love and Olive Oil. This is a good one, guys. Promise!

I didn’t use the almond meal as stated in the ingredients–because it was like $13 for a bag of the stuff and I just couldn’t spend that much on something that required only 1/4 cup for the recipe. I just added flour in it’s place–I think I used 1 cup of flour in lieu of it. I’m sure the almond meal would really add some amazing depth of flavor to the cakes if you happen to have some or are willing to shell out the money for it.

Ingredients: 

Cupcakes
1 1/8 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup almond meal
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup coconut milk
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 cup finely diced fresh figs (about 2 whole figs), or 1/3 cup chopped dried figs

Frosting
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine, room temperature
3-3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
2 tablespoons raw dark honey
pinch cinnamon
2-3 tablespoons milk or cream, as needed

Directions: 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, almond meal, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt.Whisk together coconut milk sugar, oil, and extracts. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients. Mix until relatively smooth. Fold in fig. Fill cupcake liners with about 3 tablespoons of batter (cups should be just under 2/3 of the way full). Bake for 22-25 minutes or until set, and toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Transfer to cooling rack and allow to cool completely.

For frosting, cream butter in electric mixer for 1-2 minutes until fluffy. Slowly add 1 cup sugar and beat until smooth. Add honey and cinnamon and mix until combined. Add remaining confectioners’ sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, and beat until well incorporated. Add 1 tablespoon of cream at a time, and mix at medium-high speed until light and fluffy. Add more cream or sugar as necessary to achieve proper consistency. Pipe or spread onto cooled cupcakes.

9 thoughts on “Fig Spice Cupcakes with the Best Buttercream Ever!

  1. I am all for scone textured muffins. If I’m going to eat a muffin I want it to feel like we are working together to give my body something good, not like I’ve got to do all the work converting a fluffy flour into something my body can use! And girl I LOVE figs. Yum!

  2. Pingback: Banana Spice Smoothie « Sweet Splendor

Leave a Reply

