Apple Cinnamon Scones

photo (10)

I never thought I could successfully bake scones. Just looking at them, they always have appeared slightly more complex that my baking skills could handle. I am really like a third grader in the kitchen and scones seemed to be something that only real bakers make.

I am not a huge fan of having a big breakfast. I prefer to have a smaller one consisting of a cereal bar, bowl of oatmeal or an occasional bagel and then I try to snack healthily the rest of the day until lunch. Scones would fall right into my perfect-sized kind of breakfast I enjoy. So I just decided to do it already! If they turned out bad, whatever. I had all of the ingredients already so no loss. And if they turned out amazing, I could gloat and brag that I am not a legit scone maker-baker.

photo (7)

Cinnamony-sugary apple bites…how can you NOT eat a few these!

OK. They turned out tasting amazing. They had the perfect amount of sweetness for my morning taste and I found them to be pretty satisfying as well. Annnnnd they heat up real nice in the toaster oven so I can bring them to work for breakfast all week and they still have that freshly made taste…so far!

I might have missed on the sconey-consistency slightly but for my first try, I’m not gonna beat myself up too bad about missing the mark a little bit on this one! But I can’t really brag or gloat either. I’ll just enjoy these scones quietly…and remember to brag when I ace this the next time! 🙂

photo (6)

Recipe from The Pastry Affair

Yields 8-10 scones

2 large apples, peeled and diced
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, plus extra for sprinkling
1/4 cup granulated sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
2 cups  all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons cold butter, cubed
1 large egg, slightly beaten
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a frying pan over medium heat, combine apples, cinnamon, and sugar. Cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring frequently, as the sugar caramelizes on the apples. Remove from heat and cool completely before adding to the rest of the batter. You can place the pan on an oven mitt in the shower for 5 mins to speed up the process.

Meanwhile, in a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut in butter with pastry blender or your hands until mixture resembles coarse sand. Stir in cooled apples. Add in egg, heavy cream, and vanilla mix until the dough comes together.

Turn out on a lightly floured surface, form a ball, and flatten it until it is about 1-inch thick. Using a sharp knife dipped in flour, cut 8-10 equal pie wedges. Sprinkle the top of the scones with cinnamon and sugar. Transfer scones to a baking sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

