I think I lost my mind with this one: Deep fried cookie dough Oreos

This is the most insane, ridiculous, but also dangerously delicious idea that I have ever had.

IMG_2883

I was trying to think of something out-of-the-box to make as a Super Bowl snack. I had stashed away something I saw on Chrissy Tiegen’s blog: Oreo-Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies. I thought that sounded like the coolest, most novel dessert idea ever! But it still seemed too safe for the dangerous food I had envisioned making.

IMG_2885

So I was thinking…what’s like a crazy dessert people go nuts for? And since I had Oreo cookies on the mind, I thought of the Jersey Shore boardwalk and how you can’t walk a foot without seeing a few food stands selling deep fried Oreos. I could make my own deep fried oreos!

But don’t worry, I wasn’t about to nix the cookie dough part of the idea. I instead, just decided to do it all. Make the Oreo-stuffed cookies and then deep fry them.

Cue brain explosion.

IMG_2886

IMG_2859

I found a recipe for deep fried cookie dough on the Food Network’s website and I kind of followed that. We made one cookie dough ball with a whole Oreo and it was entirely too massive so we cut the cookies in half moving on. And next time, I wouldn’t use nearly as many chocolate chips. Three cups proved to be way too much and made the dough really hard to work with. It also added to the size of the dough balls, which were still too big in my opinion, even with using only half of the Oreo. After chopping the Oreo cookies in half, we ended up with about a dozen of these bad boys in the end.

The end result was just as awesome as I had hoped it would be! It was messy, chocolaty, melty, crispy, sweet, warm and overall just sinfully good. While making this deep fried snack might be a little tedious and time consuming, it was worth it. If you want to blow your friends’ minds, make this! Think about it. How can deep fried cookie dough balls stuffed with Oreos not be a hit!?

Ingredients:

  • Oreo cookies
  • Canola Oil

Cookie Dough:

  • 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Batter:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 cup seltzer water, plus more, if needed
  • Canola oil, for frying

Directions:

To make the cookie dough: Add the flour, baking soda and salt to a large bowl. Whisk the mixture together until all of the ingredients are incorporated.

Cream the butter in a stand mixer until it lightens up. Slowly add in the sugars and continue to cream until the mixture is light and fluffy. Add the eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each egg. Stir in the vanilla. On low speed, add the flour mixture in small batches. Add the chocolate chips.

Cut the Oreo cookies in half.

Take as much cookie dough as needed to cover half the Oreo cookie, making sure it is covered entirely. Place the cookie dough-Oreo balls on a baking sheet and put it in the freezer until firm, about 30 minutes. Chilling the dough will help the batter stick to the cookie balls.

For the batter: Combine the flour, sugar and baking powder in a large bowl. Take a whisk and give the mixture a few swirls to incorporate the ingredients and break up any lumps. Whisk in the egg and the seltzer, making sure to combine well. You want the batter to have the consistency of heavy cream, so add more seltzer, if needed.

In a large, heavy-bottomed stockpot, heat the oil to 350 degrees F.

Working in batches, add 2 chilled dough balls to the batter and turn to coat completely. Using a fork or slotted spoon, remove each cookie dough ball from the batter, letting the excess batter drip back into the bowl, then very carefully slip it into the hot oil and repeat.

11 thoughts on “I think I lost my mind with this one: Deep fried cookie dough Oreos

  1. Hi Lauren!

    Thanks for visiting Peppermint and Paisley 🙂 I just had to leave a note on this post – these treats look crazy sweet – I can’t imagine how over-the-top sweet they are. I wonder what they would be like with some vanilla ice cream…

Leave a Reply

