Baked Panko Crusted Shrimp

photo

I feel like it’s been a long time since I shared a healthy recipe. My last posts were about deep fried Oreo cookie dough heart attacks and sandwiches with cheese sauce, so I am giving my cholesterol a rest and proving that I do sometimes eat like a normal human being! And it doesn’t get much healthier than this–baked, not fried, Panko crusted shrimp! The recipe came from the Cook Yourself Thin cookbook I stole from my mom so it’s legit.

This is so easy to make and it’s super quick, too! If I hadn’t over-Panko crumbed the little shrimps and didn’t have to scrape off the burnt crumbs, I would say this was a major success! It seems nothing goes perfectly smoothly…especially the first time I try out a new recipe.

Sorry this is short and sweet but there’s not too much to say about this one! It’s just a really great, healthy recipe to add to your cooking repertoire!

Ingredients:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups Panko crumbs
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 pound jumbo shrimp, peeled, deveined and butterflied

Directions:

Preheat oven to 475 degrees.

Whisk egg whites with 1/4 teaspoon salt in a shallow dish until frothy. Toss together crumbs, cayenne and remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt in a shallow dish. Dip each shrimp in egg whites, dredge in panko crumbs and place on a rimmed baking sheet. Bake until shrimp cooks through and crumbs are golden, about 12 minutes.

For the dipping sauce:

  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons creamy dill mustard

(If you don’t have dill mustard, the recipe suggests to instead use 1 1/2 tbsp Dijon mustard, 1 tbsp lemon juice and 2 tsp dill. This is what I did, except I used orange juice in lieu of lemon juice and it turned out really tasty!)

5 thoughts on “Baked Panko Crusted Shrimp

  1. Pingback: Quick and Easy Sweet and Sour Pork | Sweet Splendor

  2. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with useful information to paintings on. You’ve performed a formidable job and our entire group can be thankful to you. fbbdddecgbdc

Leave a Reply

