Cheesesteak Egg Rolls

img_28821

I live only a few blocks away from a few of Philadelphia’s favorite Cheesesteak shops but I rarely indulge in our signature sandwich. I’ve only had the famous Pat’s 1 time and have I never even tried Geno’s! I do have my personal faves of course: Dalessandro’s Steaks in the Roxborough neighborhood is awesome and I’ve always loved me a Jim’s cheesesteak on South Street. But this city has so much more great food that just this sandwich, that I never seem to be jonsing for one!

Years ago I tried an appetizer I had never heard of: cheesesteak egg rolls and was blown away! I never ordered anything else from that particular restaurant until recently when it seemed that the egg rolls were popping up on restaurant menus all over the place! Is this just a Philly thing or do they have these in like Ohio?

img_2884

Whatever the case, I wanted to make these myself! They make such a great appetizer or snack–they were perfect for munching on while watching the Super Bowl. With melty-cheese, sweet onions and steak all rolled up in a crispy wrap, you have a real crowd pleaser! Just don’t eat like 5 of them within a few hours like I did. Big mistake that I dearly paid for with major stomach cramps that lasted well into the next day! #everythinginmoderation

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of egg roll wrappers
  • 1 package frozen steak sandwich meat
  • 1/2 lb American cheese
  • 1 large Vidalia onion
  • 1 egg
  • Canola oil

Directions:

Add enough oil to a medium saucepan so egg rolls will not rest on the bottom of the pan.

Whisk 1 large egg in a bowl for the egg wash.

Chop 1 large onion into long pieces as they will shrink when cooked. In a medium pan over medium-high heat add the onion. Cook until they begin to brown or until they are done enough to taste. Place the cooked onion in a large bowl.

In the same pan, add 2-3 frozen steak slices in batches. They should cook about 45 seconds on each side. Add the cooked steak pieces to the bowl with the onions. As you add in the steak, add a few slices of American cheese so it can melt in while the steak is still hot. Mix together with a fork and repeat as you cook more steak.

Preheat oil to 350 degrees F.

When the cheesesteak mixture has cooled, place about ¼ cup of it in the center of each egg roll wrapper. With a brush, paint the egg wash around the perimeter of the wrapper. Fold in the corners as the package directions state and seal edges with more egg wash.

Place about 2-3 egg rolls in oil, making sure they do not touch the bottoms or sides of the sauce pan. Fry until golden brown and bubbly. Place egg rolls on a paper towel lined baking sheet and blot out the excess oil. 

One thought on “Cheesesteak Egg Rolls

Leave a Reply

