Pignoli Cookies

photo 5 (1)

Making pignoli cookies for your Valentine…not the quintessential Valentine’s Day dessert, but I think that makes it even more special! I could have whipped up a red velvet cake no problem,  but this was a true baking challenge and was more than worth it when he couldn’t stop eating them throughout the night!

I don’t know from a pignoli cookie. I’ve only tried them one time and it was at one of the best bakeries in Philadelphia: Isgro’s, so I knew mine wouldn’t be nearly as good as their’s. But I’m told by my pignoli cookie lover that they were amazing nonetheless. So in my mind, this was a success, even if they didn’t turn out quite like the traditional Italian cookie.

Making the almond paste was the biggest challenge for me as I was clearly not working on all 4 cylinders when I was doing this. Read about my lunacy here! Otherwise, this was a little more time consuming than making chocolate chip cookies, but not entirely too difficult!

Recipe from Taste of Home

Ingredients

  • 1-1/4 cups (12 ounces) almond paste
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 egg whites, divided
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1-1/2 cups pine nuts

Directions

In a small bowl,beat almond paste and sugar until crumbly. Beat in 2 egg whites. Gradually add confectioners’ sugar; mix well.

Whisk remaining egg whites in a shallow bowl. Place pine nuts in another shallow bowl. Shape dough into 1-in. balls. Roll in egg whites and coat with pine nuts. Place 2 in. apart on parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Flatten slightly.

Bake at 325° for 15-18 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool for 1 minute before removing from pans to wire racks. Store in an airtight container. Yield: 2-1/2 dozen.

Leave a Reply

