Simple Mushroom Soup

photo 3

Since winter is refusing to go away much to my dismay, hot foods are remaining a necessity to me.  The only silver lining is that the cold weather is at least offering me tons of opportunities to make soup!

This is a riff on a mushroom recipe I found on 101 Cookbooks. I’ve changed it enough, but the basic elements should be credited to her recipe. I just wanted a simple, no frills soup with chunks of potatoes in it. The original recipe only called for water but I wanted to bump up the volume a bit with vegetable broth. I only substituted half of the water for broth so I could make sure I retained the mushroom flavor.

There’s a complete lack of any unique shiitake mushroom soups out there that are sans miso, so this is a good one to try out if you love shiitakes like I do, but aren’t the biggest fan of miso soup.

photo 1

Tip: Leave in the mushroom stems for more flavor. Just spoon them out before serving.

Here’s hoping for an early Spring! Enjoy!

Ingredients: 

  • 1 package of shiitake mushrooms
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon dried rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 pounds small Yukon potatoes
  • 3 large cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 1/2 – 2 teaspoons salt

Directions:

Heat a tablespoon of the olive oil in a large pot or dutch oven, then saute the shallots for a couple of minutes. Stir in the rosemary and potatoes with the remaining olive oil and cook for about 3 minutes.

Add in the garlic, mushrooms, water, vegetable broth and salt. Bring to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes or until the potatoes have softened. Salt to taste.

2 thoughts on “Simple Mushroom Soup

Leave a Reply

