Turkey and Balsamic Onion Quesadillas

photo 5

I thought I was having a good healthy week. I’ve cooked three nights this week and really believed that I was making good choices that meant I was being super healthy. I used turkey sausage instead of regular old sausage in one recipe and on this recipe used lean turkey meat instead of ground beef. But then I realized that I’ve used CHEESE in every. single. meal. I’m not that healthy after all am I?

I would have already shared with you the turkey sausage recipe but look: my Dutch oven cracked in half and the food basically exploded into the burner while I was cooking. I wasn’t in the mood to blog about this one after it happened. And I really didn’t have the energy to take any photos after I had to throw away my beloved Dutch oven, carrying it in two pieces out to the trash. I’ve NEVER heard of this happening. Ever. If you have, let me know because I’ve googled it and either my googling skills aren’t up to par or this was a total freak accident. The recipe for this will follow but with no “end result” photo in the post.

photo 3

Anyway, the quesadillas. I’m proud to report no kitchen nightmares/accidents occurred while making this one. It was easy as can be. The balsamic red onions are so different and really make for a good tasty ‘dilla. This is the perfect recipe for a meal when you want to put it literally, as little effort as possible and put something unique and super tasty on the table.

Cherish your Dutch ovens and enjoy these!

Xoxo,
Lauren aka Dutch oven-less in Philadelphia

Turkey & Balsamic Onion Quesadillas from EatingWell

Ingredients:

  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 4 10-inch whole-wheat tortillas
  • 1 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 8 slices deli turkey, preferably smoked (8 ounces)

Directions:

Combine onion and vinegar in a bowl; let marinate for 5 minutes. Drain, reserving the vinegar for another use, such as salad dressing.

Warm 2 tortillas in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat for about 45 seconds, then flip. Pull the tortillas up the edges of the pan so they are no longer overlapping. Working on one half of each tortilla, sprinkle one-fourth of the cheese, cover with 2 slices of turkey and top with one-fourth of the onion. Fold the tortillas in half, flatten gently with a spatula and cook until the cheese starts to melt, about 2 minutes. Flip and cook until the second side is golden, 1 to 2 minutes more. Transfer to a plate and cover to keep warm. Make 2 more quesadillas with the remaining ingredients.

One thought on “Turkey and Balsamic Onion Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

