Eggplant Parmigiana Grinders

photo 3

I love eggplant parmigiana so much that I make my “lighter” version of it at least once a month…except each time I seem to add more and more mozzarella cheese which is kinda wrong considering its name. Oh well.

I really have the uncanny ability to take any semi-healthy recipe and turn it on its head. Super healthy, like boarding on crazy healthy, people the world-over would be horrified at how much dressing I add to salads, how I over-salt everything and how immediately after eating anything remotely good for me, will probably find some chocolate to have for a snack. But I still try to eat right…when I’m not planning a great eggplant parm dinner!

It’s been awhile since I made a sandwich so I thought what better thing to do than take eggplant parm, which I love and make it into sandwich form, which I love even more. I can’t wait until summer time so I can grill the eggplant instead. Summer, where are you!?

photo 1

photo 4

Adapted from Gourmet

Ingredients:
2 garlic cloves, chopped
2 cups marinara sauce
1/2 cup of extra-virgin olive oil, or as needed
2 1 lb eggplants
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese, or as needed
1 tsp dried basil leaves
4 6 inch hoagie rolls (Amoroso if you’re from Philly or lucky!)
Kosher salt and pepper for seasoning

photo 2

Directions:

Cut eggplant crosswise into 1/2 inch slices. Season with salt and pepper on each side.

Heat a large skillet and add 2 tbsp of olive oil. Add slices of eggplant, about 4 pieces at a time and cook for 4-6 minutes on each side or until slightly browned and tender.

Meanwhile, heat up sauce and add 2 cloves of chopped garlic.

Place the oven wrack in the upper third of the oven and preheat the boiler. Place eggplant slices on a baking sheet. Top eggplant with mozzarella cheese and broil until cheese has melted.

Split the rolls and place cut side up on the broiler for 1 minute until toasted. Spoon 3-4 tablespoons of sauce onto roll. Add eggplant on top, making 2 layers. Add 2 more tablespoons of sauce, remaining cheese and some dried basil leaves. Close sandwiches and serve.

2 thoughts on “Eggplant Parmigiana Grinders

Leave a Reply

