Ginger Chicken Jook

photo 4 (2)

I have professed my love for Chrissy Teigen countless times before but it was awesome to watch her in action cooking, rather than just reading her blog and hilarious tweets when she appeared on “On the Table with Eric Ripert.” This girl is my kind of chick: funny, obsessed with Bravo, and loves food even more than I do.

So when I saw her on Ripert’s show making Jok Moo, I got inspired give cooking rice porridge a try. My boyfriend will eat almost anything but is in a definite Asian food mood lately thanks to a great local restaurant making authentic (and spicy!) Schezuan food, Han Dynasty but he and I had never had jook before.

photo 1 (2)

This is a definite American-ized version of the rice dish. I did a lot of research and there are so many variations of this throughout different cultures, but still none of them seemed to fit the recipe I found on Chow.com. I debated going a more traditional route but in the end, decided on the Chow.com reicpe. Since I’ve never had jook before, I wouldn’t know what I would be missing if I just made the recipe that came from a healthy gallery (which is never a good sign–healthy really should just mean: this isn’t going to taste how it should! give it up!!!!)

In the end, I am glad I didn’t know what I was missing because this turned out better than I could have hoped! The consistency was perfect and the flavor was amazing. It’s a great weeknight dish–so easy to make and stress free.

photo 2 (2)

photo 3 (1)

Thanks again for the inspiration, Chrissy–even if Chow.com’s version isn’t quite what you had in mind. If I ever have real jook, I probably won’t be able to make this the same again, so I am savoring it for now.

Ingredients

  • 6 cups water
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 pounds bone-in chicken legs or thighs, skin removed and trimmed of excess fat
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 1 (1-inch) piece fresh ginger, skin on and sliced into 4 pieces
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt, plus more as needed
  • Pinch freshly ground white pepper, plus more as needed
  • Coarsely chopped fresh cilantro, for garnish (I omitted this)
  • Thinly sliced scallions, for garnish

Directions:

Place all ingredients except the cilantro and scallions in a large heavy-bottomed saucepan or Dutch oven and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce the heat to medium low and cook at a lively simmer, stirring occasionally, and more often as the rice gets thicker towards the end, until the rice has completely broken down and the mixture is creamy, about 1 hour.

Turn off the heat, remove the chicken thighs and place them on a cutting board. When it’s cool enough to handle, shred the chicken into bite-sized pieces, discarding the cartilage and bones. Return the chicken shreds to the jook. Stir to combine. Season with additional salt and pepper as needed. Ladle into bowls and top with cilantro and scallions.

6 thoughts on “Ginger Chicken Jook

  1. Thermogenic fat burners are considered the most popular today since they
    can help burn unwanted fat faster and efficiently. Our bodies in actual fact
    commences to breakdown appropriate protein from muscle tissue but exclusively when all liver glycogen shops are used up and
    ordinarily you can find not any proteins furnished by food.

    Certainly, you are effectively aware of the
    details you have to do to get back into form–like consuming healthful
    foods, diet plan management and physical workout.

Leave a Reply

