Potato Skins

photo 5

I LOVE appetizers. It’s a love that always gets me in trouble. I have big eyes and a small stomach and I cannot resist appetizers (and BREAD) before eating dinner. It’s real sad when I get all excited about a meal and can’t take more than a few bites because I’ve filled up so much on the first course.

That’s why it’s always a good idea to have an appetizer night in lieu of a real dinner once in a while. With my family, it usually consists of some frozen pigs in a blanket, mozzarella sticks and cheeses. But since I’ve been painfully aware that my beloved potato skins are all but gone from appetizer menus everywhere, I decided to make my own.

photo 4

Even though it was a little more time consuming than I expected, I would definitely make these again. We ate these with some edamame on the side, drank some good beer and watched Friday Night Lights on Netflix. If only Coach Taylor and Tami could have joined us…! I definitely think this could be Texas-worthy food!

photo 2

Recipe via The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients: 

  • 8 whole russet potatoes
  • 4 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1-1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 8 slices bacon, chopped
  • Salt to tast
  • 2 whole green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Scrub potatoes clean and allow them to dry. With a paper towel or just with your hands, rub the skin of the potatoes with 2 tablespoons canola oil so that they’re moist.

Place potatoes on a baking sheet and bake until skin is crisp and potatoes are tender, about 30 to 40 minutes. Remove the pan and allow to cool until you can handle the potatoes.

Cut potatoes in half lengthwise. Scoop out the insides, leaving a little bit of potato in the skins. Melt the butter with 2 tablespoons canola oil, then brush both the outside and the inside of the potatoes. Sprinkle the inside lightly with salt. Place potato halves face-down and return to the oven for 5 to 8 minutes. Using tongs, turn the potatoes over and continue to bake until the edges of the potatoes start to turn golden brown.

Remove from oven. Sprinkle the insides of the potato skins with cheddar, then add the chopped bacon. Return to the oven long enough for the cheese to melt, about 3 to 4 minutes.

Top with green onions and a dollop of sour cream. Serve immediately.

6 thoughts on “Potato Skins

  1. These look great. I’ve read that baked potato makes for better mash than boiled potatoes. I guess you could collect up all this potato for a creamy mash? Or do you have other intentions for it?

Leave a Reply

