Japanese Chicken Meatballs

photo (1)

Wow–I haven’t blogged in forever! I have been cooking up a storm but haven’t gotten to blog any of the amazing (not included the not-so-amazing…and there’s been just as many of these…) meals that I’ve made recently.

I know people are weary of Gwyneth Paltrow after hearing the comments she made about her children’s diet, but her new cookbook It’s All Good has some amazing looking recipe ideas that aren’t as scary as you might think. They’re all gluten-free and healthy but still retain the comfort food feel that she loves.

I made her Japanese Chicken Meatballs and was blown away! I thought I would surely miss the egg binding it together and was weary about them being too sweet with the maple syrup, but they were full of interesting flavor and healthy to boot. You HAVE to make these…they’re soooo good and surprisingly filling. After 5 meatballs I was beyond stuffed.

photo 2

Recipe here, makes about 2 dozen meatballs. I added some Panko breadcrumbs to her recipe but I’m sure it would still be great without it.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground chicken (preferably dark meat)
  • ½ teaspoon coarse sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, very finely minced
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons good-quality maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons neutral oil (like canola, grapeseed, or safflower oil)
  • 1/3 cup Panko bread crumbs

Directions:

Thoroughly mix the chicken with the salt, pepper, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, oil and maple syrup.

Roll the mixture into golf ball–sized meatballs. Grill, roast, broil, or pan-fry the meatballs until they’re cooked through.

*I baked the meatballs in a 400 degrees oven for 20 minutes, until they began browning.

Gwyneth says to serve with Lee’s Hoisin Sauce, but I found it to be too sweet and thought the flavors competed too much with those in the meatballs. I made my own American-ized hoisin sauce. See below:

  • 5 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp honey
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp hot sauce
  • 1/4 garlic powder
  • a pinch of white pepper
Leave a Reply

