Coffee Granita

photo 2

Summer time is all about ice cream, frozen yogurt and anything sweet and cool to help beat the heat. And even though I love me some ice cream (even if my stomach doesn’t) I wanted to try something new. I realize I start a good number of my blog posts with “After I watched an Ina make….” and this one is no different, sadly. She whipped up her own coffee granita on the Barefoot Contessa and might have said her little catch phrase, “How easy is that?” and I might have maybe sat there on the couch captivated, nodding my head, answering her saying, “SO easy!” as the dog stared at me like I was a crazy person. Maybe…

And it was SO easy and this coffee granita was the perfect end to a super hot day that included a wonderful grilled Margherita Pizza made by my love. Since I am a little terrified to try my hand at grilling, I leave this up to him. He’s a great cook, and an even better grill-master! He made the pizza dough from scratch, too…he’s amazing.

photo 1

photo

Happy summer! Xo

Coffee Granita 
Recipe from Ina Garten

Ingredients:
2 cups hot freshly brewed strong coffee
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon coffee liqueur
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Sweetened Whipped Cream, recipe follows

Directions:
Combine the coffee, sugar, coffee liqueur, and vanilla and stir until the sugar dissolves. Pour the mixture in a flat pan that’s about 9 by 13-inches. Place the pan in the freezer for one hour, until it starts to become slushy around the edges. Rake the mixture with a large fork to break up the crystals and place it back into the freezer. Every 30 minutes, rake the mixture until it is completely frozen and granular throughout. Freeze until ready to serve.

Spoon the granita into pretty stemmed glasses and top with a dollop of whipped cream. Serve immediately.

Sweetened Whipped Cream:
1 cup cold heavy cream
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Place the cream, sugar, and vanilla in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Whip on medium and then high speed until the cream just forms stiff peak.

Leave a Reply

