Broccoli Cheddar Soup

This is about to be devoured

This is about to be devoured

As soon as the weather even so much as teases colder temperatures, I find myself chomping at the bit to make soup. To me, soup is as comforting to make as it is to eat. It’s so simple and you have the ability to layer flavors and add in hidden veggies–so what’s not to like? This Broccoli Cheddar soup came from a Google search in which I landed here. I was looking for something that didn’t use a ton of cream because I wanted to keep it as light as possible.

I only had whole-wheat flour left in my pantry so the part in this recipe where it says to add it to the half-and-half I omitted and it still turned out perfect! It was the ideal thickness and creaminess in my opinion.

afterlight (1)

Add the soup to a sourdough bread bowl and you really have something great happening. Anddd it was so easy to make, even if I did cut my finger open while grating cheese.

Enjoy!!!

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1/2 medium chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups half-and-half cream
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 lb fresh broccoli
  • 1 cup carrot, julienned
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 8 ounces grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper

Directions

Sauté onion in butter. Set aside.

Cook melted butter and flour using a whisk over medium heat for 3-5 minutes. Stir constantly and add the half & half.

Add the chicken stock. Simmer for 20 minutes.

Add the broccoli, carrots and onions. Cook over low heat 20-25 minutes.

Add salt and pepper. Puree with an immersion blender to the desired consistency. Return to heat and add cheese. Stir in nutmeg.

Leave a Reply

